The Wedding – Part Four

It was Junior year and only three weeks had passed for the first semester. I had been walking along the walkway to my dorm room when I found an ID card with a picture of a boy. He had black messy hair and what looked like brown eyes, but I couldn’t tell with just a picture. I got on Facebook as soon as I returned to my room to search for him, so I could send him an email. I gave him my number in the email and a few hours later he called asking what dorm I was in. I gave him the building and room number. It took him two hours to finally get near my room, but he still couldn’t find it – he lived off campus. He called me again and I just told him I would meet him outside. We did and I gave him his card. We said a few words, but nothing special and went our separate ways.

I couldn’t get him out of my head for the longest time and was determined to get him to notice me. By the middle of October we finally had three full conversations and little conversations here and there over Facebook chat. Finally, on the 25th of October he invited me to go and hang out with his group of friends. This started a trend of hanging out for the next month or so. When Christmas came around we texted each other everyday during break, but I kept it a secret from my dad though somehow my mother could read me like a book. When we got back from Christmas break we decided to hang out one night, but all our friends ditched us so we were very alone. I didn’t mind. We saw a movie and got ice cream afterwards. We joked around with each other and I finally said something that I didn’t mean to say, “So what are we on? A date?”

We both kind of laughed at first, but then his gaze pierced right through my heart and replied, “Yeah, I guess we could call it that.”

I stared at him for a moment with a smile on my face and said, “This can’t be a date.”

“Why is that?” he was confused, eyes sparkling at me.

“I paid for myself, the girl isn’t supposed to pay for herself when you are on a date,” I stated confidently and shrugged, “Sorry.”

“I failed!” he exclaimed, making a disappointed grunting sound.

“Epic failure on my scale,” I sarcastically added.

“What could I do to make it up to you?” he asked, stopping to face me.

“We will just have to try again another time our friends fail and ditch us,” I nonchalantly said, trying not to think about how close he was standing. Trying not to think about how I could hear his heartbeat and feel his breath tickle my eyelashes. I tried not to think about how his whole body overshadowed me, inviting me into the safety of his presence. 

“I don’t know if that will happen anytime soon,” he shrugged.

“Your loss,” I stated, forcing a steady smile, trying to ignore the urge to lean into him.

He looked pensive for a moment, eyes averting up to the sky, “Well what if I do this?” Before I could ask what he looked back down at me, leaned in and kissed me. Our lips parted and I felt one of his hands slip up to my cheek and the other around my waist, pressing into the small of my back. I felt my whole body ache and fall into him. The kiss lasted shorter that it felt, so when he pulled back I was in shock. I didn’t know what to say or he took my silence as I forgave him.

These dates of ours didn’t stop. We kept it going and found ways for our friends to “ditch” us. By the first of February we were official. Even though we started out all cute and blissful, it didn’t always stay like that. We fought a lot! About the stupid little things to big life changing things, but for some odd reason we stayed together. Our relationship wasn’t perfect, but it was passionate and I think that is what made us fall in love so quickly.

Sadly, this didn’t last forever. By the end of the school year we went home thinking we could do a long distance relationship for the summer, but when he couldn’t come back to school the next year things became rocky. We fought more and more on the phone. The fights never got resolved, so one gloomy day in November during my senior year one of our fights got very heated and I ended it. He didn’t understand and quite frankly neither did I. Though, I couldn’t do it anymore. The girls chasing him back at home, the pressure of my senior year classes, and the uncertainty of it could work drove me to it. I never questioned if I loved him, that I was certain of, but everything else was in the dark. He told me before I hung up he would find me one day, but I didn’t believe him. I watched “the Notebook” over and over again yelling at them, hating them for making it work. Though it was just a movie. Movies never come true…


<Part Five – Final Installment coming Jan. 29th>

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.